Three Cheers to Our Gala Honorees

The Eisner blog

Home » Three Cheers to Our Gala Honorees

The reviews are in, and the Camp Gala was a huge success! Thank you to everyone who turned out to celebrate or who purchased an ad or sponsorship as tribute to our most deserving honorees.

More than 400 members of our extended camp community gathered on Saturday night, April 29, at Westchester Reform Temple in Scarsdale, NY, for an evening of fun, laughter, tears (of joy) and much, much more.

Twenty of this year’s Machon (counselors-in-training) were on hand to welcome guests as they arrived from locations near and far (many, many thanks to those who made it all the way from Arizona, Colorado, Florida and Massachusetts).  The reception was capped off by Havdalah led by leaders of the Reform Movement and the current and past board chairs of the Camps.

Over dinner, with the help of Max Reiss, camp alum and current political reporter for NBC in Connecticut, we acknowledged the impact each of our honorees has made on our camps:

Lifetime Commitment: Diane and Darryl Mallah, who met at Eisner in the 1960’s, have spent a lifetime ensuring both Eisner and Crane Lake continue to provide both meaning and joy to future generations of Reform Jewish youth. Their work on the camp board as well as their philanthropic participation have permanently changed the landscapes of the camps.

13 Years of Service: Corey Cutler, who attended Eisner as both a camper and counselor, has played a vital role in advancing the mission of Eisner and Crane Lake Camps through his work in fundraising and board relations.

25 Years of Inspiration:  Rabbi Jeffrey Sirkman, spiritual leader of Larchmont Temple, has taught generations of Machon about leadership, Judaism and being their best selves. His impact on camp is indelible.

Young Alumni Achievement: Sheila Katz credits her adaptive leadership style to the time she spent at Crane Lake as a counselor, unit head and drama director. Sheila has taken these skills sets and uses them to inspire young people in her work as Vice President of Hillel International.

Proceeds from the event will support camp’s annual fund including camper scholarships, programmatic excellence, capital needs, and leadership development. If you are still interested in contributing you can donate online.

Thank you to Roberta Glick, Susan Wiener and Rabbi Matt Cutler for spearheading the event, along with the Gala Committee: Alyson Bazeley, Doug Bernstein, Amy Dattner-Levy, Beth Grossfeld, Michael Klau, Evan Mallah, Jb Mallah, Lloyd Mallah, Marnie Mallah, Rebecca Zimmerman Mansell, Jodi Maniscalco, Carol Meyers, Rabbi Mara Nathan, Erica Penn, Eric Rayvid, Rabbi Eve Rudin, Alison Simpson, Jane Levy Vance, Jen Weber, Wendy Schiffman Wilsker.